COVID-19: Fijian civil service implements work-from-home for Government

FILE PHOTO: Mark Berkley and Susan Halper Berkley work from home due to coronavirus disease (COVID-19) restrictions in Maplewood, New Jersey, U.S. March 18, 2020. REUTERS/Barbara Goldberg/File Photo

Work-from-home (WFH) arrangements are now being implemented by the Ministry of Civil Service for the whole of Government.

In a statement issued this evening, the Government stated this was to ensure civil servants were compliant with the COVID-19 measures enacted by the Fijian Government.

“The Fijian Government announced the Work-from-home Guidelines for Civil Servants on April 1, 2020, to establish physical distancing within the public sector workforce, in accordance with the country’s broader coronavirus containment campaign,” the statement said.

In the same statement, Attorney General Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum was quoted saying the scope to which Government roles were deemed “essential” would be prudently established.

He said this was to ensure that Fijians would see minimal disruptions to service delivery, while priority was placed on the health for both civil servants and the broader members of the public.

The Government has released the units from ministries and departments that will be working from home, and agencies and functions not mentioned will continue to operate from their respective offices.

WFM list:


  1. Office of the President

Executive Support Unit

Administration Unit

Properties Maintenance Section

Accounts Section

Landscape Section

Domestic Section

  1. Office of the Prime Minister

Project Planning Division

Client Service

Corporate services

  1. Ministry of Sugar Industry

Policy, Planning & Research



Director Sugar

  1. Ministry of Civil Service

Civil Service Coordination and Implementation Unit

Government Service Centre

  1. Ministry of Economy

Climate Change & International Co-operation

  1. Ministry of Defence and National Security

Policy – Security

Policy – Police

Policy – Defence

  1. Ministry Of Industry, Trade And Tourism

Economic Unit

Trade Unit

Tourism Unit

Dept of Cooperatives


Department of National Trade Measurement Standards

  1. Ministry of Employment, Productivity and Industrial Relations

National OHS and Workmen Compensation

Field Operations

Risk Engineering & CP

Training & Accreditation

Chemical & Hygiene

Human Resources

  1. Ministry of iTaukei Affairs

Chairman – TLFC

iTaukei Lands & Fisheries Commission – Vanua Unit

iTaukei Lands & Fisheries Commission – VKB Unit

iTaukei Lands & Fisheries Commission – Admin Unit

iTaukei Lands & Fisheries Commission – Demarcation & Survey Unit

iTaukei Institute of Language & Culture, Culture Unit

iTaukei Institute of Language & Culture, Project Staff

Development Services Division – Director


Environment Unit

Social Unit

Economics Unit

Secretary Division

Media Unit

Corporate Service Division  Director


Finance & Accounts


HR & AMU Unit

Tribunal Secretary

Complaint & Public Relations Unit

Admin Department

  1. Ministry of Rural And Maritime Development

Human Resource Unit

Policy & Research  Unit

Projects and Monitoring & Evaluation Unit

  1. Ministry of Youth and Sports

Valelevu Youth Training  Center

Nausori Office

Navua Office

Eastern Division

Sports – Division

North – Division

West – Division

  1. Ministry of Waterways & Environment 

Waterways –    Policy & Planning

Human Resource Department

  1. Ministry of Infrastructure, Transport, Disaster Management & Meteorological Service

Department of Water & Sewerage

  1. Ministry of Forestry

REDD+ Project – WFH

Timber Utilization and Research Division

Forest Resource Assessment and Conservation – WFH

Operations – North

Operations – Central

Operations – West

Corporate Services – HR

  1. Ministry of Fisheries

Executive Support Services

Economic Policy, Planning & Statistics Division (EPP&S)

Research Service Division

Human Resources & Administration

  1. Ministry of Lands and Mineral Resources

Valuation  – compilation and assessment of town valuation

Geological Survey Division (compilation of geological and geotechnical reports and policy papers, Compilation of Hydrogeological and Drilling Reports)

  1. Ministry of Housing and Community Development


Project Management

Policy and Research Unit

  1. Ministry of Communications

Digital Government Transformation Office (DGTO

Department of Communications

Information Technology & Computing Services – Online application support

Web Development



Business Solutions

More Stories