2019 Fiji RWC squad named; Waqaniburotu to lead team to Japan

Fiji Airways Flying Fijians players after their World Rugby Pacific Nations Cup match against Canada at the ANZ Stadium in Suva. Picture: JONACANI LALAKOBAU/FILE

THE Flying Fijians squad to represent Fiji at the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan were named today at a media conference at the Grand Pacific Hotel in Suva, Fiji.

In a press release by the Fiji Rugby Union (FRU) Head Coach John McKee said the squad, captained by Dominiko Waqaniburotu,  has an opportunity to do something special for Fiji and is challenging the players to step up their intensity and commitment to make a real impact in Japan.

“I wish the players selected well and remind them of the responsibility they must take on in representing Fiji in a RWC,” said McKee.

“With 35 days until our opening match against the Wallabies now is the time to step our preparation up in the final phase to ensure we put ourselves in the best position to achieve our performance goals at RWC.”

The Flying Fijians have a 10-day camp from today before they fly to New Zealand to play their final test match against Tonga on the August 31 at Eden Park.

The squad reassembles in Nadi for a week’s camp on the September 2 where they will be farewelled at a formal dinner at the Sofitel on the 3rd before flying out to Japan on September 6.

The Flying Fijians Rugby World Cup squad are:
Loose-Head Props
Campese Ma’afu
Eroni Mawi
Peni Ravai

Mesulame Dolokoto
Samuel Matavesi
Ratu Vere Vugakoto

Tight-Head Prop
Lee-Roy Atalifo
Manasa Saulo
Kalivati Tawake

Tevita Cavubati
Leone Nakarawa
Api Ratuniyarawa
Tevita Ratuva

Loose Forwards
Semi Kunatani
Viliame Mata
Mosese Voka
Dominiko Waqaniburotu
Peceli Yato

Frank Lomani
Nikola Matawalu
Henry Seniloli

Inside Backs
Levani Botia
Jale Vatubua
Ben Volavola

Outside Backs
Vereniki Goneva
Filipo Nakosi
Waisea Nayacalevu
Semi Radradra
Josua Tuisova

Utility Backs
Joshua Matavesi
Alivereti Veitokani

Kini Murimurivalu

Rugby World Cup 2019 – Flying Fijians Matches

  1. Fiji vs Australia (4.45PM, 21st September, Sapporo Drome, Sapporo, Japan)
  2. Fiji vs Uruguay (5.15PM, 25th September, Kamaishi Recovery Memorial Stadium, Iwate Prefecture, Kamaishi City)
  3. Fiji vs Georgia (5.15PM, 3rd October, Hanazono Rugby Stadium, Osaka Prefecture, Higashiosaka City)
  4. Fiji vs Wales (9th October, Oita Stadium, Oita Prefecture)

More Stories